bannae bu_USA (1)

    A Comprehensive Guide on WPL 2023: Things You Must Know

    Women’s cricket in India will improve significantly with the launch of the WPL 2023 (Women’s Premier League) 2023 on March 4.

    The greatest league in women’s cricket, the WPL kicked off its first season with a game at Mumbai’s DY Patil Stadium between the Gujarat Giants. This match was captained by Beth Mooney, and Harmanpreet Kaur. We’ll talk about the first-ever women’s IPL today.

    More about WPL 2023

    Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, and UP Warriorz were the 5 franchisees that competed for the prestigious WPL 2023 trophy.

    Each team faced off against two other teams in the women IPL group stage. The top team in the IPL table’s points standings advanced to the final, while the lowest two teams had to play in an elimination round to earn a place in the championship game. A side may have a maximum of 5 foreign players in the starting eleven, with one of those players having to be from an associate country.

    Additionally, the WPL will provide new employment possibilities, particularly in the World Cup management and promotion of the competition.

    Captains of Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2023

    • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)- Smriti Mandhana
    • Mumbai Indians (MI) – Harmanpreet Kaur
    • Delhi Capitals (DC)- Meg Lanning
    • Gujarat Giants (GG)- Beth Mooney
    • UP Warriorz (UPW)- Alyssa Healy

    Winners of Awards, Prize Money, and Emerging Players

    The Mumbai Indians won the WPL’s debut season in a nail-biting finish, earning the championship despite a strong push from the Delhi Capitals. As both of their openers were disqualified while on the power play, MIs case of 131 got off to a rocky start.

    The innings were stabilised, though, by Harmanpreet Kaur and Nat Sciver Brunt, who then began scoring more freely in the middle overs. Amelia Kerr ultimately played a crucial role, targeting the opposing bowlers to push MI across the finish line with three balls remaining.

    The Mumbai Indians got reward money of Rs. 6 crores for their efforts, while the Delhi Capitals were given Rs. 3 crores. After the competition, several individual prizes were also announced in addition to the winning team.

    Meg Lanning of DC won the Orange Cap for scoring 345 runs in the league, while Hayley Matthews of MI got the Purple Cap for taking 16 wickets. Both of them received Rs. 5 lakhs in prize money.

    The Power Striker award went to RCB’s Sophie Devine, who hit 13 sixes and received Rs. 5 lakhs. The Catch of the Season award went to MI’s Harmanpreet Kaur against UPW in Match 15.

    Hayley Matthews of MI earned the Most Valuable Player award for her outstanding all-around performance, scoring 271 runs and capturing 16 wickets. She also received Rs. 5 lakhs. In addition, Yastika Bhatia from MI received the prize money of Rs. 5 lakhs and was named the developing player.

    Nat Sciver Brunt of MI got Rs. 2.5 lakhs as Player of the Match in the championship game, and Radha Yadav of DC won the title of Power Striker and received Rs. 1 lakh in cash.


    Everything about WPL 2023 is provided here for your convenience. You are informed that the Women’s IPL 2023 has already begun and will finish on March 26.

    Also Read: Eager to Know Who is the King of IPL? Here’s the Answer

    Share this post at
    - Advertisement -spot_img
    Josie Patra
    Josie Patra is a veteran writer with 21 years of experience. She comes with multiple degrees in literature, computer applications, multimedia design, and management. She delves into a plethora of niches and offers expert guidance on finances, stock market, budgeting, marketing strategies, and such other domains. Josie has also authored books on management, productivity, and digital marketing strategies.

    Latest news


    Related news