bannae bu_USA (1)

    A Comprehensive and Useful Guide on Ashtanga Yoga

    Yoga is a very healthy and beneficial practice that has recently become quite popular. There are several practices and styles seen in Yoga. Ashtanga Yoga is undoubtedly the most transformative and time-tested form among all the styles and forms. This yoga has its roots in ancient wisdom. It offers a holistic approach to physical, spiritual, and mental health and well-being. Today’s article will discuss the essence, origins, and significance of Ashtanga Yoga.

    Origin and Evolution

    Patanjali, a renowned ancient Indian sage, codified the practice of Ashtanga Yoga in Yoga Sutras 2000 years ago. His 8-fold path offers a comprehensive blueprint for a purposeful and meaningful life. It thus provides a valuable and systematic approach towards self-realization. “Ashtanga” is a Sanskrit word meaning “8 limbs”. Each denotes a fundamental side of the yogic journey.

    8 Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga

    1. Yama (Moral Code)

    This is the first limb denoting ethical considerations. It outlines principles of how one is to interact with the external world. It involves various aspects like non-greed (asteya), truthfulness (satya) and non-violence (ahimsa).

    2. Niyama (Self-Discipline)

    This anga (limb) focuses on personal observances and self-discipline, which deals with concepts like self-study (svafhyaya), contentment (santosha), and surrender to a higher power (Ishvara pranidhana), etc.

    3. Asana (Posture)

    This is the most recognized anga or aspect of Ashtanga Yoga. It refers to physical posture, which is practiced in the sequence. This aims to purify and strengthen the body, promoting mental clarity and physical health.

    4. Pranayama (Breath Control)

    This specific limb is associated with breath regulation for cultivating prana, aka life force energy. This technique prepares one for meditation, calms the mind, and enhances respiratory health.

    5. Pratyahara (Withdrawal of Senses)

    This aspect encourages one to turn inward by effectively withdrawing senses from external stimuli. This sets the stage for deeper meditation and concentration.

    6. Dharana (Concentration)

    It involves focusing your mind on a single thing or point. This is how it helps to develop mental control and clarity in the best way possible.

    7. Dhyana (Meditation)

    Beyond concentration, Dhyana leads to a sustained meditation where one feels tranquillity and connection.

    8. Samadhi (Union with the Divine)

    Samadhi is the ultimate purpose or goal of Ashtanga Yoga. This is nothing but a state of blissful union with the higher or divine consciousness. This is there to represent the culmination of a yogic journey.

    More on Ashtanga Yoga Practice

    Physical posture or asana is considered the entry point of this yoga. The Ashtanga system involves various asanas such as nadhi Shodhana, Intermediate series, and Yoga Chikitsa. This practice’s flowing and dynamic nature synchronizes movement with breath, promoting a moving meditation.

    Mysore Style: A Unique Approach

    Mysore Style of Ashtanga Yoga is a popular form that K Pattabhi Jois popularised. In this approach, a practitioner can do it in his self-pace to move through it at their rhythm. This approach enables them to promote growth for them. This is why beginners and seasoned yogis can do Ashtanga yoga conveniently. Now you know what is Ashtanga Yoga.

    The Benefits

    Ashtanga comes with several perks and benefits that one is supposed to consider while doing it. Apart from ensuring physical fitness, it also promotes various mental and spiritual benefits. It also cultivates resilience and discipline in you. You get to have increased balance, flexibility, and strength. On the other hand, it is also suitable for promoting stress reduction, clarity, and focus. On the spiritual ground, it promotes a deeper connection with oneself and opens the door to self-discovery.

    Challenges and Considerations

    If you decide to go for Ashtanga yoga, you should be on a transformative journey. You are required to do this practice with mindfulness. The dynamic nature of these asanas can be quite challenging to perform. Hence, it is essential to proceed gradually by seeking expert guidance and respecting the body’s limitations.


    Ashtanga yoga is not just a physical workout, it is rather more than that. This is a path to self-realization. It has its roots in ancient wisdom. If you decide to do it, you will benefit to the fullest. It will effectively impact your body, mind, and psyche in the best way possible. Traversing through this yogic path will lead you to a new transformation. Things will be helpful in so many ways.

    Also Read: Yoga Centres – The New Go-To for Fitness

    Share this post at
    - Advertisement -spot_img
    Josie Patra
    Josie Patra is a veteran writer with 21 years of experience. She comes with multiple degrees in literature, computer applications, multimedia design, and management. She delves into a plethora of niches and offers expert guidance on finances, stock market, budgeting, marketing strategies, and such other domains. Josie has also authored books on management, productivity, and digital marketing strategies.

    Latest news


    Related news